BasedWorld by Ryan Hemsworth

ryan-hemsworth1

“Based means being yourself. Not being scared of what people think about you. Not being afraid to do what you wanna do. Being positive. When I was younger, based was a negative term that meant like dopehead, or basehead. People used to make fun of me. They was like, ‘You’re based.’ They’d use it as a negative. And what I did was turn that negative into a positive. I started embracing it like, ‘Yeah, I’m based.’ I made it mine. I embedded it in my head. Based is positive.” – Lil B

“BasedWorld” by electronic producer, Ryan Hemsworth, is the epitome of what the Based culture is: freedom of the self, optimism, and nonconformity. It’s a bright, bombastic song full of big city lights and swirling synthesizer freeways. Get in your car, roll the windows down, and blare this based anthem, that’s the only way you should listen to it. Some people dismiss Lil B and his based philosophy as idiotic gibberish but there is a reason NYU asked him to come give a lecture, and behind every act of foolishness there is a piece of sincerity.

-Ryan

Leave a Reply

