Long Live Diarrhea Planet

A few years back my obsession with New Jersey’s Titus Andronicus led me to a discovery of what I consider to be the best live band out on the road right now. I’m talking about Nashville rockers Diarrhea Planet. My first run-in with them was this past spring at SXSW (SXSW 2013: The Adventures of The Endless Bummer). They were the white light among the colorless corporate bullshit that engulfed Austin for that two weeks.

I was able to make it out to their show at The Parish on 6th last night, and it was nothing short of amazing. Austin punk legends The Midgetmen opened with a great set, as expected, and got the blood flowing in the crowd. After, the Nashville dudes quickly took the stage and 40 minutes of pure power-pop-punk bliss commenced. My buddies and I were front and center having a blast, while others kept their distance from the small, reckless pit. The new songs from their new album I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams sounded great, but 2011 release Loose Jewels dominated the set for me. I can’t hear shit today, but it was totally worth it.

Long story short: Do everything in your power to go to their shows, support them in anyway possible, because there’s a really good chance they will be your new favorite rock n’ roll group in a matter of months. Purchase Loose Jewels for starters.

We have three newly released songs below from the upcoming record, followed by the classic “Fauser” performed live at Shea Stadium in NY, and how could we forget their epic Boss cover “Born To Run” featuring the man, myth, legend, Patrick Stickles of Titus Andronicus.

Leave a Reply

