Songs of the Year (So Far)

It’s been a good month since our last post and I thought it would be a good idea to update readers with the current state of The Endless Bummer. Recently we decided to start a new project/blog called ‘Surfing Saxophone’, a site dedicated to music of the beach persuasion. We encourage all of our supporters to check that out at surfingsaxophone.com, we are still posting the great music but with a fresher theme that holds our interests more than the existentialist philosophy this blog was founded upon. Long story short, we will be putting more time and effort into Surfing Saxophone. However look out for occasional posts such as this from time to time. I’d like to thank everyone who has sent me their music in hopes of any kind of feature, and I apologize to those who I have not responded to via email (I’m lazy AF). Shout out to the all the twitter followers as well.

Now, I present to you some of my favorite songs from 2013 so far:


Coalition by Iceage

– So much angst and rage in this track. The Danish punks really make you just wanna go out and beat the shit out of something, and it makes sense that they tried to sell pocket knives with the ‘Iceage’ logo on them at their shows.

Hey Winnie by Cocktails

– “Hey Winnie” is a power-pop masterpiece. I often get caught daydreaming about what this song would look like if it were a person, I’m thinking something along the lines of a mix between James Dean and Mathew McConaughey’s character from Dazed and Confused.

Step by Vampire Weekend

 Vampire Weekend produce a modern pop classic in “Step” off new album Modern Vampires of the City, an album I’ve been comparing to The Beach Boys’ Pet Sounds in terms of stylistic growth.

Blood Bubbles by The Orwells

 – It’s hard to believe these Chicago kids are my age and make such high caliber rock n’ roll music. “Blood Bubbles” is off their new EP Other Voices which improves on the band’s amazing sound from 2012’s Remember When. Talent, talent, talent….. Check out the awesome video below.

Stand in the Sand by Twin Peaks 

 

– “Stand in the Sand” is a product of Chicago dudes Twin Peaks, a young group of friends who dropped college in order to keep playing music together. While their garage rock sound has been done many times before, Twin Peaks manages to keep everything on debut LP Sunken fresh, progressive, and consistent. It’s pretty damn catchy as well.

No Stranger by Small Black 

– “No Stranger” puts me into a comfortable place that reminds me a lot of the times when I would jam out to their ‘chillwave’ 2010 debut LP New Chain. Any song off Limits Of Desire is worthy of making this list, Small Black really perfects their dance-pop sound on this one.

Dream House by Deafheaven 

– I was first introduced to the genre of ‘Black Metal’ during a spring trip to New Jersey through one of my cousins. I’ll admit it didn’t click with me at first listen, but after listening to Sunbather by Deafheaven in its entirety several times I was immediately won over. Any fan of Post-rock (Explosions in the Sky, Sigur Ros) should give this a go. Darkness surrounds “Dream House” but there’s something very pretty and comforting that lies in the center.

Betwixt by OMN

artworks-000048368689-92aayw-t500x500

– I’ve always felt a bit distant emotionally from electronic music, but “Betwixt” by OMN has something that hits me hard. It’s the simple “I don’t think I can” vocal loop and huge cloudy production that lurks in the back of my head day in and day out.

It All Feels Right by Washed Out 

– “It All Feels Right” feels so right in my life at this moment, it’s everything I love from Washed Out’s Life of Liesure EP combined with the refined production from the debut LP Within And Without. A perfect one for the perfect summer day.

There’s a few songs I really loved from the first half of 2013. Be sure to check out Surfing Saxophone http://surfingsaxophone.com/!

– Brendon Hoeferkamp

Leave a comment